A full listing of schools can be found on the Chesapeake Public Schools website.
Show All Answers
Much like an intersection with a stop light, school buses have yellow (amber) flashing lights on the top of the bus. These lights will activate to warn motorists the bus is preparing to stop to pick up or drop off passengers. When the yellow lights are flashing, you should be prepared to stop. Virginia Code 46.2-1090 governs the use of lights on school buses.
A bus stop can be anywhere as deemed necessary by the experts at School Transportation. This can include day cares, hotels/motels, stores, parking lots, intersections, and, most commonly, amongst neighborhoods.
A school bus may operate at any time, even on a non-school day, and motorists are required to stop. Generally, buses run Monday-Friday, from about 6:30 a.m. until 6:30 p.m., depending upon age of students, after school activities, and other factors. This does not mean you cannot receive a violation that does not occur within this time range.
While not contracted with the City of Chesapeake Public Schools, private school buses may have cameras and you could receive a violation for passing them, as all buses fall under the 46.2-844 and 74-196 laws.
Citations are reviewed within 30 days of the violation and mailed to your registered address. If mail is returned to the Police Department as undelivered, we will note that in your file. On the 31st day after mailing, you will have a second notice mailed to your house. Your court date will be listed after this 31st day, and before the 61st day. If you have not addressed the citation prior to the 61st day, a late fee will be assessed.
Please see the Questions and Answers below
Yes, this program is under the control of the Chesapeake Public Schools, Police Department, and the vendor, BusPatrol America, LLC. Mailings may be received from Boston, MA, Lorton, VA, or Newington, VA, the Headquarters of BusPatrol America, LLC. When in doubt, please contact Sgt. Byrd at firstname.lastname@example.org to confirm.
Visit this School Bus Safety Program website and enter your CH-xxxxxxx citation number, license plate and complete the captcha requirements if required to view the same videos and photos that the reviewing officer saw. Enter the data exactly as it shows on the violation notice (i.e. if your license plate is ABC-1234, it may need to be entered as ABC1234 or ABC-1234).
The fine is a civil penalty of $250. If you appeal (see more on appeals below) and are found liable, you may be required to provide payment of court costs and incur DMV demerit points for a moving violation. Based on the present Virginia Law, the judge cannot reduce the $250 fine based upon a driving school or a favorable driving record.
Payment can be made in several ways
1. Check or Money Order, with your citation number (CH-xxxxxxx) in the subject line made out to Chesapeake Stop Arm Safety and mailed to:School Bus Safety ProgramPO Box 411472Boston, MA 02241-1472
2. Credit or Debit – by calling 877-504-7080 or visiting www.alertbus.com and entering your license plate and unique citation number. A processing fee may be applied.
If you are not appealing your citation, you cannot pay at a City office and must use either of these two ways:
1. Check or Money Order, with your citation number (CH-xxxxxxx) in the subject line made out to Chesapeake Stop Arm Safety and mailed to P.O. Box 1310, Newington, VA, 22122
If you have requested a court date to appeal the citation and received your subpoena in the mail, you cannot pay via the above methods. You must contact the courthouse and provide payment there, which may result in court costs being applied.
If you have requested a court date and NOT received your subpoena, you must call 877-504-7080 to make payment.
There are no DMV points assessed to the civil violation. If you appeal and are found liable you could receive DMV demerit points. The Police Department and Courts do not assess DMV points. For further information on moving violations, please visit the DMV website.
If all registered owners were not driving the car at the time of the infraction, they must each submit a sworn and notarized affidavit indicating as such. Refer to your citation and 46.2-844 for information on the affidavit. Mail the affidavit to: Chesapeake Stop Arm Safety, 304 Albemarle Drive, Chesapeake, VA 23322. The affidavit must be received at that address prior to the due date listed on your violation.
You must call 877-504-7080 to note your appeal prior to the due date listed on the violation. The court date on your violation is likely not the court date you will be assigned. DO NOT show up to court on the date listed. You will be subpoenaed later (3-4 months) at your registered address. Possible outcomes if found liable by a judge include court costs and DMV demerit points being assessed to your driving record. If you are the owner of a company, the driver of the vehicle at the time should call the number above to request judicial review.
1. Car: Submit a copy of the police report showing the car was stolen prior to the violation date.
2. License Plate: Submit a copy of the police report and provide a photo of your car if the license plate was on the same type of car as your own.
Both the report and photos can be mailed to:Chesapeake Stop Arm Safety, 304 Albemarle Drive, Chesapeake, VA 23322 oremailed to: email@example.com
If your mail was returned to the Police Department as undeliverable, we will have a note in our file. Likely, this is due to an inaccurate DMV registered address. Change your address here within 30 days of moving. If you were not able to receive mail due to military orders, emergency displacement, or some unique circumstance, please email firstname.lastname@example.org. On a case-by-case basis, these will be addressed.
When watching your violation video at www.alertbus.com, there will be a yellow orb in the top left corner. This is tied to the yellow lights flashing on top of the bus. Most violation videos will have 5-6 seconds of yellow light activation prior to the red lights and stop arm activating. Often, the lights are yellow prior to the video starting, indicating longer than 5-6 seconds. If you do not see the yellow lights in your video, the lights on the bus were red for a long period of time prior to your violation.